Saturday, July 27, 2013

Sneaky Dairy

It seems like although soy is in everything, it is fairly easy to identify. Soybeans, soybean oil, soy leichtin to name a few.

Dairy, not so much.
I frequently refer to this list when something sounds like it might have dairy in it.

This is from the website. This is  a really nice source of information for dairy free but if you are avoiding soy in all forms as well it won't necessarily be accurate regarding products that are safe for MSPI. I figured that was obvious but just throwing it out there. They have cook books, recipes, suggestions, and contacts for questions.

Obviously this is not all inclusive either. This is just another source of information. You can always check with the manufacturer as well. Sometimes ingredients and processes change, which means a once "safe" product or ingredient may not be "safe" the next time around.


Acidophilus Milk
Ammonium Caseinate
Butter Fat
Butter Oil
Butter Solids
Buttermilk Powder
Calcium Caseinate
Caseinate (in general)
Cheese (All animal-based)
Condensed Milk
Cottage Cheese
Delactosed Whey
Demineralized Whey
Dry Milk Powder
Dry Milk Solids
Evaporated Milk
Ghee (see p109)
Goat Milk
Half & Half
Hydrolyzed Casein
Hydrolyzed Milk Protein
Iron Caseinate
Low-Fat Milk
Magnesium Caseinate
Malted Milk
Milk Derivative
Milk Fat
Milk Powder
Milk Protein
Milk Solids
Natural Butter Flavor
Nonfat Milk
Potassium Caseinate
Rennet Casein
Skim Milk
Sodium Caseinate
Sour Cream
Sour Milk Solids
Sweetened Condensed Milk
Sweet Whey
Whey Powder
Whey Protein Concentrate
Whey Protein Hydrolysate
Whipped Cream
Whipped Topping
Whole Milk
Zinc Caseinate


Artificial or Natural Flavors/Flavoring – These are vague ingredients, which may be derived from a dairy source. A few of particular concern are butter, coconut cream, and egg flavors.
Fat Replacers - Brands such as Dairy-Lo® and Simplesse® are made with milk protein.
Galactose – This is often a lactose byproduct, but it can also be derived from sugar beets and other gums.
High Protein or Protein – Ingredients noted with no further details may be derived from milk proteins (casein or whey). This is particularly true in “High Energy” foods.
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein - The processing phase may use casein, but only trace amounts would likely remain.
Lactic Acid Starter Culture - These cultures may be prepared by using milk as an initial growth medium.
Lactobacillus – This term is noted often as a probiotic. It is in fact bacteria, not a food byproduct, and is named as such for its ability to convert lactose and other simple sugars to lactic acid. Though often utilized in milk products to create lactic acid, on its own, this ingredient is not always a concern. However, in some cases it may have been cultured or produced on dairy, and thus have the potential to contain trace amounts.
Margarine - Milk proteins are in most brands, though not all.
Prebiotics – A newcomer on the digestive health scene, these are indigestible carbohydrates. They are quite different from probiotics, which are living microorganisms. Prebiotics, such as galacto-oligosaccharides, lactosucrose, lactulose and lactitol may be derived from milk-based foods.


Calcium or Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate – Stearoyl lactylates are derived from the combination of lactic acid (See any potential concerns with lactic acid below) and stearic acid. They are generally considered non-dairy and safe for the lactose intolerant and milk allergic (again, see below). However, the stearic acid may be animal derived, which could be a concern for vegans.
Calcium, Sodium, or Potassium Lactate - Lactates are salts derived from the neutralization of lactic acid, and are rarely a dairy concern. For example, it was noted that the lactate found in one brand of orange juice was made from sugar cane.
Caramel Color – Anything with caramel in its title may sound like a dairy red flag, but caramel color is typically derived from corn syrup and occasionally from potatoes, wheat, or other carbohydrate sources. While lactose is a permitted carbohydrate in the production of caramel color, it is rarely, if ever used.
Lactic Acid – Lactic acid is created via the fermentation of sugars, and can be found in many dairy-free and/or vegan foods. Most commercially used lactic acid is fermented from carbohydrates, such as cornstarch, potatoes or molasses, and thus dairy-free. Though lactic acid can be fermented from lactose, its use is generally (I said generally; where concerned, always check with the manufacturer) restricted to dairy products, such as ice cream and cream cheese.


Calcium Propionate
Calcium Carbonate
Calcium Citrate
Calcium Phosphate
Cocoa Butter
Cocoa Powder
Coconut Butter
Coconut Cream
Cream of Coconut
Cream of Tartar
Creamed Honey
Fruit Butter (Apple, Pumpkin, etc)
Glucono Delta-Lactone
Lecithin Oleoresin
Malted Barley or other Grain-Based Malts
Malt Liquor
Malt Vinegar
Milk Thistle
Nut Butters (Peanut, Almond, etc.)
Shea Butter

The above information is copyright Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-Free Living by Alisa Marie Fleming and It was created for informational purposes only. Always use due diligence in consumption of manufactured foods where food allergies, sensitivities, or intolerances may be a concern.

1 comment:

  1. Wow. You have done an amazing amount of research. It will be helpful for others. Mom